Unction

When I was a teenager, I often remember my mother and grandmother tossing around the word “unction” more than a handful of times.  Within the context of their frequent conversations, I distinctly remember the term “unction” being used to describe someone who lacked motivation a.k.a. “get-up-and- go.” Back then I do recall them wondering on several occasions what had happened to my unction or “inner drive” to organize and keep my room clean. All these years, I just assumed “unction” was one of the many slang expressions which found its way into the human lingo throughout the generations. So this morning as I carried out my daily Bible study, devotions, and prayer time; THERE IT WAS! I just happened to stumble upon the exact word “unction” in 1 John 2:20 which reads:

              “But ye have unction from the Holy One; and ye know all things.” (KJV)

The Amplified Bible awesomely delivers the same verse (1 John 2:20) in these terms:

              “But you have been anointed by [you hold a sacred appointment from, you have been given an unction from] the Holy One, and you all know [the Truth] or you know all things.” (AMP)

But how many know when we have an intimate relationship with our Heavenly Father, nothing ever happens by chance or coincidence. So finding that particular word this morning was not by chance. Immediately, I was led to look up the word “unction” in the dictionary; to see what the formal definition just happened to be for the word I always assumed was not really a word. The Encarta English North American Dictionary listed four meanings for the word “Unction” which I found significant. I believe the following four definitions which were: (1.) anointing with oil, (2.) real or (also can be) pretended earnestness, (3.) something soothing (something that soothes or comforts somebody), are of great importance to the Body of Christ. I let the various definitions marinate for a moment in my spirit. I continued reading God’s Word only to come across another vital verse of scripture. I knew it was a direct confirmation to me from God, which gave me the green light to start the ministry He had been speaking about to me. In 1 John Chapter 2 verse 27 of the Amplified Bible it reads:       

               “But as for you, the anointing (the sacred appointment, the unction) which you received from Him abides [permanently] in you; [so] then you have no need that anyone should instruct you. But just as His anointing teaches you concerning everything and is true and is no falsehood, so you must abide in (live in, never depart from) Him [being rooted in Him, knit to Him], just as [His anointing] has taught you [to do].”

For several months I have been wrestling with knowing that God had speaking to me about starting a particular type of ministry, however I could not help but think how I did not have any formal theology or ministerial training. Nevertheless I believe with a God-given level and degree of certainty that He has anointed me with a specific unction to carry out His plan. Furthermore, when we begin to function in our God given unction or anointing, everything will effortlessly fall into place. God always orchestrates a perfect, organized schedule for launch with an accompanying plan of operation. As the Master Creator, He always knows and will always know right where you belong. If that place does not exist yet, then it must mean He wants you to create it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

Leave a comment

Filed under Church, Corner insight foundation, destiny, entrepreneurship, life, Ministry, Resources, Success in Business, Success in Life

Leave a Reply

